Skip to main navigation.

College & Lineworker School Scholarships Available

October 31, 2017

Menard Electric Cooperative General Manager Alisha Anker has announced that the Illinois electric cooperatives will award 10 scholarships of $2,000 each through the Thomas H. Moore Illinois Electric Cooperatives (IEC) Memorial Scholarship Program.

Five scholarships will be awarded to high school seniors who are the sons or daughters of an Illinois electric cooperative member receiving service from the cooperative. A sixth scholarship, the Earl W. Struck Memorial Scholarship, will be awarded to a student who is the son or daughter of an Illinois electric cooperative employee or director. Three additional scholarships are reserved for students enrolling full-time at a two-year Illinois community college who are the sons or daughters of Illinois electric cooperative members, employees or directors. The deadline for applications is December 31, 2017.

The final scholarship, the LaVern and Nola McEntire Lineworker’s Scholarship, is for students enrolled in the lineworker’s school conducted by the Association of Illinois Electric Cooperatives in conjunction with Lincoln Land Community College, Springfield, Ill. Sons and daughters of co-op members; relatives of co-op employees or directors; and individuals who have served or are serving in the armed forces or National Guard are all eligible. The deadline for this scholarship only is April 30, 2018.

“Electric cooperatives are always seeking ways to make a difference in their communities. A program such as this one, that honors past electric leaders while assisting our co-op members, is one small way we can do that,” says Anker.

Visit our Scholarships Page for More Information  

Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo
Co-op Connections Card Cooperative action network